Curriculum Vision

Curriculum Journey

Curriculum SMSC & British Values

Options Information

Qualification Name  BTEC First Children’s Play, Learning And Development
Exam Board Pearson
Type (e.g. GCSE/BTEC Certificate) BTEC First
Level (1,2 or both) 1 and 2
GLH (Guided Learning Hours) 120
Course Content Outline (What Will I study?) Who is this qualification for?


This qualification is for students aged 14–16 who wish to develop applied knowledge and practical skills in child development. It is designed with both practical and theoretical elements, which will prepare students for further education. It would be beneficial for students to have easy & regular access to a child that will be under the age of 8 by the time the student is in year 11. The child can be a brother/sister or any other family member.


What will the student study as part of this qualification?


All students will study three mandatory topics as follows: Unit 1—Patterns of Child Development

Unit 2– Promoting Children’s Development Through Play

Unit 3– The Principles of Early Years Practice

Typical Lesson/Homework Activities.

(How will I study?)

The first topic underpins all of the other learning in this qualification. Students will develop the essential knowledge and understanding in child development and the patterns that can be seen in the way children grow and develop. It will help students to understand why children at particular ages and stages tend to do similar things. All adults need this knowledge of the patterns of child development so that they can know how they can support children at differ- ent ages. Unit 1 is an essential unit if you want to work with children and this is why it is the first taught unit.

In the second unit you will explore the concept of play. Play is seen as a vital way to support children’s development. Early years settings plan a range of play opportunities and activities that help children to learn and in this unit students will learn about how play can promote

children’s development. And what play opportunities early years settings can provide for babies and young children.

In the third unit students will learn that there are many different types of early years settings. They include childminders, nurseries and schools. Although they are all different, they all work to the same basic principles. The principles of early years practice are about making sure each child benefits from the opportunities on offer within the setting and they are properly support- ed. Students will explore several principles in depth to be able to explain why they are important for children’s development.

Homework activities generally focus on research, completing activity booklets and exam questions.

Success Criteria


(How will I be assessed?)

The BTEC First Children’s Play, Learning and Development is the same size as a GCSE and will take 120 guided learning hours (GLH) to deliver.

The course is assessed in three sections:


Unit 1 Patterns of Child Development – 25% of final grade (Externally set exam)


Unit 2 Promoting Children’s Development Through Play—25% of final grade (internally set controlled assessment)

Unit 3 The Principles of Early Years Practice— 50% of final grade (internally set controlled assessment )

Succession Paths Post-16


(What can I do with this qualification.)

This subject will be an obvious choice to any wanting to study child care or health and social

care at college, or do apprenticeships of many kinds. The course will prepare students for further qualifications in Child Care, Health and Social Care, Psychology, Sociology and Biology.

Exam Specification